Being the M.I.A. MoH

My darling best friend is getting married in July.

I am in Australia, and she is in the United States.

Before Caleb and I made our big move overseas (like, 2 weeks before), Kylie (the BFF) brought this to me:

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 9.41.23 PM
“Will you be my Co MoH?”

I knew that she was engaged but I didn’t know how soon they would want the wedding to be.  Obviously they weren’t about to wait 2 years for me to get back home just so that they could get married. But I think the reality of it all hit when she officially asked me to be a Maid of Honor in her wedding.

**Side note:  I’m technically a Matron of Honor but matron sounds so…matronly. So for the sake of cuteness I’m calling myself a Maid of Honor : )

I truly felt a sense of loss when I realized how much I was going to miss.  Since we were toddlers, Kylie and I have been inseparable. We are practically sisters. We know each other and understand each other. We have been through so many adventures over 23 years.  I seriously can not imagine not being at her wedding, and neither can she.

 

The duties that come along with being a Maid of Honor are not few.  I am not able to plan bridal showers or an awesome bachelorette party for her. I’m not able to help her make decorations for the wedding reception. I wasn’t there when she picked out her gown. All these things bring tears to my eyes. Not only was she there for my wedding planning, but these are things we grew up talking and dreaming about with each other.

Thankfully, we get to talk to each other every day. However, not physically being there is certainly different than what either of us ever thought would happen. I am so happy and thankful to be here in Australia with my wonderful husband, but it is occasions likes this that make me miss home a TON.

While I can’t be there every step of the way leading up to her big day, I am so glad that she does have more amazing friends and family back home whom I know are treating her during this fun and chaotic time.  I may feel M.I.A. for the moment, but I cannot wait to get over there in July and stand by my best friend’s side on her wedding day.

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 9.31.26 PM

Hey, as BFFs, sometimes you just gotta conquer long distance a few times.

❤ Laura

Leave a Reply

