Bring a Plate

As many of you may know, I grew up going to church. At this church we liked to have get-togethers, carry-in dinners, pot lucks, picnics, whatever we happened to call it that day. Well, get-togethers here in the land down under are really not much different; where people gather, let there be food! I learned that usually the term here for that type of gathering is “Bring-a-Plate,” which I think is proper and cute.

Okay once I heard our church was having one of these, I immediately starting thinking about all the possible dishes I could maybe bring. I really do love to cook and prepare good dishes for my friends and family back home, and I wanted to leave my mark on my first bring-a-plate.

Bacon Mac n’ Cheese, yes, I’ll bring that! And it did sound so good…but then I felt a little shame, and I decided to be healthy.

So I started looking at salads.

Don’t you stop reading just because I traded the Mac n’ cheese for a salad; we’re all in this together.

After skimming recipes online, I found a nice looking one for a simple salad, which I changed up a little to better suit me. Below is my first bring-a-plate dish and a really healthy salad you can try too:

Avo, Seeds, and Greens Salad

Ingredients:

  1. Mixed salad greens (I used a bagged store-bought kind)
  2. 1 ripe avocado
  3. 1 medium tomato
  4. 1 tbsp sunflower seeds
  5. 1 tbsp pine nuts
  6. 1 tbsp pumpkin seeds, and/or whatever other crunchy gems you like

Ingred

Dressing:

  1. 1 tbsp lemon juice
  2. 1/8 cup apple cider vinegar
  3. 1/4 cup olive oil
  4. 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  5. salt and pepper to taste

Please keep in mind that while I’m giving you these measurements, I pretty much eye-balled it and the salad was still delicious.

all ingred

Directions

Start by placing the greens inside a large salad bowl, and set aside. Open and slice the avocado into small cubes.

Once the halves are sliced into cubes, just scoop out the meat of the avocado with a large spoon. You should end up with evenly sized avo cubes ready to go into the salad.

Next, grab the seeds and nuts and pour them over the salad.

Seeds in Salad
As  you see here, I didn’t measure. Just go with it if you like!

Set the salad aside for the moment as you prepare the dressing. Place the ingredients together in a small bowl and stir together until well blended. Then pour over the salad.

12630884_2900170981237_2130002046_o.jpg

To add a some color and garnish, I wanted to incorporate tomato. If you don’t like tomato you can definitely forego this step. But it IS good, I promise. Just give the salad a nice toss before you add on the tomatoes.

 There you have it!  The little bit of lemon goes really well with the smooth, creamy avocado. This salad it light, crisp, and tasty! I received several compliments for it at the bring-a-plate, so I’d say it was a hit!

If you try it and have your own variation, or if you have your own recipe you like to make for bring-a-plate dinners,  please let me know about it in the comments. I love trying new recipes!

❤ Laura

Leave a Reply

